What it means to me to “grow” as an athlete.

Ironman Puerto Rico 70.3 🏊🏻‍♀️🚲🏃🏼🇵🇷

Swim: Swimming in Condado Lagoon is a must for any first time endurance triathlete. The warm water temperature keeps the race from being wetsuit legal but the ocean water keeps you buoyant. I felt good entering with my wave of athletes. It’s my 4th time to do this race so the familiar faces of my competition is comforting. We know that the swim is a gentle way to ease into the windy and hot bike and the notorious hilly and hot run.🏊🏻‍♀️

Bike: This bike course is the best. Although it’s flat, the wind can give athletes a challenge. This year I got to try out my deep dish pizzas from Flo cycling and of course they didn’t disappoint. I had my training focused on watts this winter and last year averaged 137 watts on this course and this year improved with an average of 150 watts over 56 miles. Ocean views, palm trees, iguanas and sun. SUN!! Yeah, something I haven’t seen a whole lot of in Minnesota! While riding at 19-23mpr I was more impressed with my application of sunscreen on my arms in the aero position than anything. March 17th I didn’t ride my bike; I danced with it. Having so much fun, feeling so grateful I was overcome with emotion at the beautiful place I was in. Feeling lucky to be able to compete and loving every second of it.🚲

Smiles for miles on my BMC

Run: Fuuuuuuuuuccccck. Well, let me paint a picture for you. Same beauty in 89 degrees. Where did the wind go? Who the hell knows, probably still on the bike course! I couldn’t take the chance of having what I like to call “iron-brain” again (the inability to do basic math after hours of activity) so I left it to my Garmin watch. I decided beforehand I needed to see 10:30/mile or better at every mile. Now, normally I run around an 8:30/9min pace for a race of this distance but this race is different. This race is hard to have any expectations on the run. With the heat and humidity and hills it throws many athletes off. I think of this run as the best and the worst. Let’s talk about the best; best crowd support hands down on any 70.3 course I have done (aside from the world championship.) Tri clubs, families, athletes and spectators from around the island support this race with music and cheering- and it’s needed. My first lap I felt amazing even with the heat and the hills. I even danced with the tri-club spectators whenever I heard music. (Hey, it’s my race and I’ll do what I want 🤩) 9 miles in I’m ahead of schedule- until I hit what’s known as the “microwave” the second time. The microwave is the hottest portion of this race. Every veteran athlete of this course knows this. It’s the only part of the race where there is no race support and it’s the closest I get to losing my mind every year. My goals last year and this year was to not walk one foot of that because the longer I am there (1.25 miles x 2) my soul and my brain start to break. And although I kept my promise to myself of no walking, as soon as I exited this portion my body started to give out…. and I had 3 miles left. 

This is when I started to fall- literally. It began with being dizzy and then I started tripping and stumbling. The amazing spectators kept urging me to continue. Sometimes I would have 2 or 3 people around me giving me words of encouragement in Spanish. I HAD to finish. I had to meet this goal…. for me. (Even writing this now I have tears in my eyes.) After making it to the top of the last overpass hill- I could see the finish. And I fell again. I look at my watch – I’m not going to just get a course PR but I will also be getting a personal best for the distance. I run (or stumble) as hard as I can and as I cross the first set of timing mats, my arms go up- I finished! Or did I? No, this is where the infamous Ironman red carpet begins. My arms are the only thing that can give me momentum as I approach the finish line.🏃‍♀️

Everything goes black. 

I wake up in a med tent; an IV is in my hand, blood pressure cuff around my arm and my body is packed with ice. The first words I remember asking was if I was disqualified. The doctor pointed to my chest; there was the medal. I don’t know if someone could have paid me to not smile during that moment. I thanked the team profusely, and thanked God about 100 times.

About halfway into the saline bag, both feet, toes, calves and quads seized at the same time. A scream of absolute agony that left my mouth was foreign. My IV ripped out of my hand as I grabbed for my legs. Even after having 2 babies I don’t know if I’ve ever had pain come on so quickly with so much intensity. It took 3 people to straighten my legs and feet, another IV in my other arm and more fluids until I was able to stand. I’m so thankful for that medical team. 

I’m thankful for this race. I trained hard; really hard. I raced hard; damn hard and I had an adventure. And just like in everyday life, this too will be another learning experience. Another challenge, another race in paradise. Another day where I grew 10 feet taller.

Falling into the finish

*900 calories on the bike with EFS and 1 Gu gel.

Ironman Puerto Rico 70.3 🇵🇷🏊🏻‍♀️🚲🏃‍♀️

2016   7:10:56

2017   6:23:50

2018   6:09:00

2019   5:54:01

Ironman Puerto Rico 70.3

Leave a comment